1. March 2020
3. March 2020

The City of Lancaster () is a local government district of Lancashire, England, with the status of a city and non-metropolitan district. It is named after its largest settlement, Lancaster, but covers a far larger area, which includes the towns of Morecambe, Heysham, and Carnforth, as well as outlying villages, farms, rural hinterland and (since 1 August 2016) a section of the Yorkshire Dales National Park.

The district has a population of 144,246 (mid-2018 est. ), and an area of 222. 5 square miles (576. 2 km2). The current city boundaries were set as part of the provisions of the Local Government Act 1972, and cover an amalgamation of five former local government districts—the municipal boroughs of Lancaster and Morecambe and Heysham, together with the Carnforth Urban District and rural districts of Lancaster and Lunesdale, all from the administrative county of Lancashire. The higher tier of local government is Lancashire County Council. At a lower level, there are many parish councils: See this list of civil parishes in the district. The district comprises two parliamentary constituencies: Lancaster and Fleetwood, and Morecambe and Lunesdale. In the 2010 general election both seats were won by the Conservatives. In 2015, Lancaster and Fleetwood was gained by Labour, whilst Morecambe and Lunesdale was retained by the Conservatives. Following the 2019 local elections, the composition of the council is as follows:Elections for all council seats are held every four years.

United States
North America
160,000 people
Safe tap water:
Yes, drinkable
Internet speed:
43 Mbps
Best wireless carrier:
Best coffee:
Gathering Groundz
Cashless society:
Yes, cards OK almost everywhere
Best taxi app:
Gender ratio (% man):
50 %
Fire department:


Closest neighbours