Bandar Seri Begawan

1. March 2020
3. March 2020

Bandar Seri Begawan (Jawi: بندر سري بڬاوان ; Malay: [ˌbandar səˌri bəˈɡawan]) (formerly known as Brunei Town) is the capital city of the Sultanate of Brunei. It is officially governed as a municipality (Malay: bandaran).

Bandar Seri Begawan has an estimated population of 100,700, and including the whole Brunei-Muara District, the metro area has an estimated population of 279,924. 'Bandar Seri Begawan' is derived from the official Malay name which is translatable as 'Seri Begawan City', with Seri Begawan being derived from Sanskrit (śrī bhagavan) meaning 'the aura of the gods'. It was named after Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien III, who was the previous Sultan of Brunei and the late father of the current Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah. 'Seri Begawan' is part of the royal title bestowed on the late Sultan upon his abdication from the throne in 1967. The city was renamed in 1970 to commemorate his contribution to the development of the country during his reign, especially on the modernisation of Brunei in the 20th century. Prior to this, the city had been known as 'Bandar Brunei' (literally 'Brunei City') or 'Brunei Town'. The city is colloquially known by the local people as 'Bandar' which is the Malay word for '(the) City'.

27,000 people
Safe tap water:
Yes, drinkable
Internet speed:
1 Mbps
Best wireless carrier:
Best coffee:
Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
Gender ratio (% man):
51 %


Closest neighbours